I’ve finished reading Goodnight Mister Tom

Well I have now finished reading Goodnight Mister Tom. Although some parts of the book were slow, I really enjoyed reading it. It’s very well written, and towards the end of the book it gets really sad. I put myself in Will’s shoes and imagined how he must have felt. It’s depressing how he gets beaten by his mother and locked up in a cupboard. It’s very sad that terrible wars such as World War 1 and 2 claimed so many innocent lives. This is shown in the book, when the war killed many lives, including one of Will’s good friends. I felt my eyes water when I read this part.

Mister Tom proves to be the perfect father for Will. He’s a kind, soft-hearted man, and he and Will grow to love and trust each other in the story. The story’s very emotional, with some parts being very happy and other parts very sad. I’m really glad that I’ve read this book because it was a great experience and taught me a lot about the World Wars. They were very tragic and this story shows exactly what happened during the wars.

There are many secrets to find out by reading this book. Why is Will afraid of dogs? Why has he never had any friends before he met Mister Tom? I recommend this book to anyone willing to read a long, emotional story about a young boy with a terrible past. This lovely story, set during World War 2, will touch anyone.