Grammar

Right now I feel quite embarrassed. No, nothing extremely embarrassing happened, it’s just that I’m in year 8, and I don’t even know the names of different words. Verbs, adverbs, prepositions, pronouns… you probably know the full definition of these words. Not me though! It is expected that you can identify these types of words by high school, but I don’t even know what a verb is! I feel a bit embarrassed telling you this, and felt even more embarrassed when Mrs McLeay said that adverbs describe a verb, and I replied, “What’s a verb?”

Well, luckily, Mrs McLeay has found an interactive website that helps people learn these grammar skills. This sounds like the perfect thing for me, seeing as though I’m a kinaesthetic learner, which means I learn better while doing something.

I started off on the ‘Adverbs’ section, where I was quizzed on adverbs. I started off really badly, and even mistaken adverbs for words that describe nouns. When I was corrected, I began the whole quiz again, and this time I did much better.

Now, onto the games. I started playing a game which was on personal pronouns. I enjoyed playing the game much more than doing the quiz, and felt that it was much easier.

I think this site is a great way to learn grammar skills! It will take some practice, but by spending a bit of time on this site everyday, I think I will learn these grammar skills in no time! I won’t give an age limit for this site, because I believe that there is none! I recommend the site for anyone who wishes to improve their grammar skills.

Click here to go to the site

Click here to go to the games